Learning about Metabolic typing

metabolic_typing_dietWhat up !! I been doing a whole lot of research this week and while do that research I ran across a article on Metabolic Typing. I found that metabolic typing is a form of customizing a diet to the specific needs of a person body. Basically the supporters of metabolic typing feel that each person has unique nutritional needs and that once you identify these needs then it is easier to determine what type of diet that the person should be on. It is a very interesting subject and I plan on buying a book on the subject this week. I do know that Jillian Michaels has devoted an entire chapter to the subject in her book “Winning by Losing,” I just ordered her book from Amazon and can’t wait for it to arrive. The basics of metabolic typing as I understand it, is through answering a series of questions that a persons type is determined. It is then determined if your diet may be more effective with more complex carbs, or protein, or a mixture of both. I’m not yet sure if this eating plan works as advertised but here is what I can tell you. I tried the Atkins diet twice and loss a good amount of weight both times (roughly 30 pounds) but I would always stall out or have cravings for sweets and that would rail road my diet. This time when I decided to change my eating habits I did some research and while I don’t eat many simple carbs I do eat a ton of fruit which is full of complex carbs. I have not had a sweet craving in months and I have loss more weight than I ever have in my life. I think that there may be something to this metabolic typing thing, I will get more information and pass it along. Alright I can’t type anymore I’ll holla…..

5 Responses

  1. Fred you’re on the right track. There is definitely something to the Metabolic Typing thing. I highly recommend it. It helped me enormously to feel better once I understood my type and started eating the right ratios of carbs, fat and protein at each meal.
    It’s not a good idea to rely on the questionnaire in the book though to determine your type. Far better to do the far more detailed online questionnaire through a MT practitioner.
    There is a lot to it once you get working with someone.

    • Sandy thank for the info and the comment. I think I’m going to do some more research on the subject and see what I find. I’ll be sure to post some more info on the subject.

  2. Fred,

    I would like to give you a free pass code for doing the Metabolic Typing questionnaire at http://www.metabolictypingonline.com. This is the only legitimate Metabolic Typing questionnaire and website in the world. I can also help you find a Certified Advisor to work with. David (my email was included on the reply page)

  3. I’m a certified MT adviser and personal trainer/Chek practitioner. I learned about MT through the Chek Institute. I have not found anything more successful with my clients. Nutrition is one of the most important choices you have in life. When you know what is right for you, you on your way to opening the key to your unique nutritional needs. The one size fits all is laughable and sophomoric with just a little understanding of human adaptations to diverse environments. Yet our conventional medical establishments are all based off a one size fits all. Imagine Einstein starting every equation with 2+2=5, then developing his complex equations. Thats what I think about when I hear PhD’s and MD’s advocating a one size fits all. Fundamentally flawed at its most basic level. Metabolic Typing is a profoundly developed science. I’m still learning and yet have far to go. Good luck on your journey. If you need any help send me an email.
    Dan

Leave a Reply

